Talk

Advanced search

School Reports - Chat thread

(103 Posts)
IndigoBell Tue 05-Jul-11 13:28:01

How's everyone feeling about their children's school reports?

I've just got DS2s report and it's glowing - which stupidly makes me upset because he's a very difficult child at home, and it makes me feel like it must be me that's the problem.

Apparently he's fine at school and is only a monster for me, DH, the nanny and Beavers.....

Anyway, what are your school reports like? Do they describe your child? Or someone else totally......

laurz75 Tue 05-Jul-11 13:36:01

My ds report was very accurate and honest. It showed just how well his teacher knows him. He can be difficult at home too but is an angel at school.
It is frustrating but I know that he can behave when he has to!

I am a teacher myself and can remember many a parent saying "But he's awful at home..." and I used to say "Which way round would you rather it was!?". That came back to bite me!!!

dragonmother Tue 05-Jul-11 13:58:48

Great idea to have a general chat thread on this.

Ours aren't out until next week but I am cynical after last year's I'm afraid sad. Still, I will be chomping at the bit to read it the second Dc leaves the school door, yet will hold off until we get to the car so I don't seem obsessive (which I am).

LawrieMarlow Tue 05-Jul-11 14:00:05

Think DC get theirs on Friday. I will also be chomping at the bit but will try to contain myself a little grin

Lizcat Tue 05-Jul-11 14:16:23

Not looking forward to ours. Christmas report DD described as enthusiastic and positive girl. 6 weeks later we go into have a meeting as DD being bullied suddenly DD is negative glass half empty kind of girl and the more we have tried to get the bullying sorted the greater the reference to DD's supposed negativity.

lovecheese Tue 05-Jul-11 14:20:22

DD1 - good. Very honest, especially about the usual problem.