Talk

Advanced search

Private School - pre-reception but not planning on continuing to reception

(12 Posts)
anonMum2 Fri 01-Jul-11 19:37:02

Hi, I'm new to the education section so hope I'm asking on the right place and not asking anything too 'controversial'. Basically, I'm planning to send my DS1 to a private school pre-reception, as it's a lot cheaper than our current nursery, they have better days option for him and it's closer to our house. We are not planning to send him to reception though as there is a very good primary school where we are intending to send him to and we cannot possibly afford it in the next few years, but thinking of sending him back to that same private school if he doesn't manage to get in a good school(depending on our financial status in a few years time) but that's all in theory. I also want to expose him to the school to give him incentive to do well in school in the future, and to be an all rounder, so if he's bright enough he may well apply a scholarship to go there if he wants to. My question is, is it really weird or wrong to send DS1 to pre-reception knowing full well he is not continuing onto reception? Also, why would the pre-reception be nearly half the price of a nursery? Thank you in advance.

dixiechick1975 Fri 01-Jul-11 19:46:37

My DD's private school has an excellent nursery attached.

I think it takes 40 children over various sessions but only 15 or so go into the reception.

Due to the EYFS funding and the way the school charges it is cheaper than the day nursery DD attended eg day nursery charges £7? or so for lunch (food and care) at the school nursery no charge is made for lunchtime for all day children (they eat a packed lunch).

You certainly wont be the only one doing this.

WesternIsle Fri 01-Jul-11 20:14:02

Depends on the school how you handle it - all the prep schools by us I know people who have left for reception.