Talk

Advanced search

pushy mum?

(21 Posts)
worriedfordd Thu 30-Jun-11 21:35:34

It has come to my attention that i have gained a reputation at my ds's primary school as a pushy/competetive parent(pushy?to be fair yes this is true,competetive however is not at all true),my worry is that my ds may be descriminated against by the teachers because of this and i would hate for any feelings that his teachers may have about me to be taken out on ds,do you think this could happen?

BlueberryPancake Thu 30-Jun-11 21:39:43

no. Why do you think it would? I don't see the logic personally. Why would a teacher discriminate against a child who is pushed at home?

AbigailS Thu 30-Jun-11 21:44:14

Your child won't be discriminated against, in fact it's often the opposite as the teachers have huge sympathy for a child that they believe has a pushy / competitive parent.
PS In your opinion what is it that makes you pushy, but NOT competitive? Not aimed as a dig at you, just as a teacher I would find it useful to know.

mercibucket Thu 30-Jun-11 21:46:19

it's the opposite - teachers push the children of pushy parents to achieve more - at least that's one theory. I've never heard it said the other way round

worriedfordd Thu 30-Jun-11 21:53:25

abigail I'm not competetive as i want my ds to do well to the best of his abilities and not according to what ever the other dc are doing iyswim
for example i'm not one of these parents who would compete with other parents over reading levels etc

blackeyedsusan Thu 30-Jun-11 21:53:46

I would say that pushy can mean bothering the teacher about this that and the other, (and not understanding why the child is not in the top group for everything even though they are not capable) or pushy could be just wanting your child to achieve their best regardless of others. competitive is wanting your child to be the best out of everyone.

worriedfordd Thu 30-Jun-11 22:03:59