Talk

Advanced search

Only child-Lack of confidence in school

(11 Posts)
Buzzybeeme Tue 21-Jun-11 12:53:00

Hello everyone. I'm brand new to MumsNet, very worried and really need some wise advice. I have no parents/or parents in law to ask for opinions as all have passed away.
My DD is 9 (Yr 5) and our only child.
She is very articulate and bright at home, but at her school she has always been classed as 'quiet.' The first time a teacher told us that at a parents evening we laughed-no way is she quiet at home!-then realised that the teacher wasn't joking.
DD is in a class of 31, made up of over 2o boys-mostly v confident and loud,(verging on cocky!) and only a few girls. The class teachers have had 'control' problems since Reception but the school will not split the class into two...lack of funds!
She hates the teachers shouting-doesn't hear it at home-she was brought up to be well mannered and polite and respectful- pity other parents didn't bother to get their children 'school-ready'!
Problems have arisen in the past about her being left out-not in the clique-all others girls in two's or threesomes and my DD seems to be forever wondering why she's on her own. Admittedly, she tries only half-heartedly to mix in, but others just don't let her. Teachers have been told but not much help.