Talk

Advanced search

When do you buy school uniforms? Is June too soon?

(14 Posts)
barbie007 Wed 08-Jun-11 20:34:15

Hi
DS is starting secondary school in September and he'll have to wear a uniform for the first time as his primary school doesn't have one.

We'll be away pretty much the whole summer and I was wondering if I buy his uniform at the end of June won't he grow by the time school starts in September? Should I buy stufff that's a bit bigger? Sorry if this sounds like a stupid question but I'm new to this uniform thing

DeWe Wed 08-Jun-11 20:44:05

If you leave it all till September you may struggle to get the right size. I'd get it now.

CroissantNeuf Wed 08-Jun-11 20:47:58

Funnily enough I bought some school trousers today for DS in the next size up ready for Sept.

I usually leave it for the month before but find that they've always run out of whatever size I need so thought I'd get them today as I happened to see they had lots in stock.

DD starts secondary school in September and I intend to start getting her things soon partly to spread the cost as most of it has to be school issue with the badge on etc.

barbie007 Thu 09-Jun-11 11:49:54

Thanks for that. Yes, I think I'll go shopping asap and just but one size up as he seems to be getting bigger each week

LaCerbiatta Thu 09-Jun-11 11:51:18

M&S will probably have a 2 for 3 offer soon. I think they may have 20 or 25% off at the moment.

barbie007 Thu 09-Jun-11 19:29:37

thanks tuga, will check it out

dikkertjedap Thu 09-Jun-11 20:09:08

I would buy everything except shoes now.

EldonAve Thu 09-Jun-11 20:10:30

buy now

Bohica Thu 09-Jun-11 20:12:33

Do buy it now, you will struggle if you leave it till August. There are some really good deals on at the minute as well.

TheProvincialLady Thu 09-Jun-11 20:14:34

Does the same go for primary aged children? DS1 starts school in September. Though the school still haven't sent a uniform list.

woolleybear Thu 09-Jun-11 20:19:12