Talk

Advanced search

Teachers can you advise me with helping dd and taking away 10 from any given number up to 100-please!!!!

(22 Posts)
MilaMae Fri 27-May-11 19:41:56

Believe it or not I'm an ex teacher and dd's Y1 teacher has mentioned it's a little sticking point with her-twice blush.

I asked about using a number square and teacher said no,she wants her counting back in 10s.

She has a very experienced brilliant teacher and I've been out of it 7 years so more than happy to bow down to her experience. I only mentioned a number square as I thought it might help to show how it works ie you jump down a line,I thought it would be a good mental picture to have.

I'm a bit lost as to how I can get it into her brain,have tried 3 times.Teacher says she's bright but this is a little thing she really needs to master and hasn't.I feel awful. I tried 10ps and 2ps making amounts of then taking 10p away,thought she'd got it but obviously not.

Was thinking of numicon but as I'm clearly barking up the wrong tree I thought I'd get some advice here re how I phrase it,other things I can do.I think she means taking away 10,20 etc from say 66,78 etc,that kind of thing. They have being doing money.

Her teacher is scary!!!! Too scared to ask again(obviously dd isn't the only one with a weakness in this area).

TIA

lilolilmanchester Fri 27-May-11 19:46:33

I don't suppose they use good old fashioned "tens and units" approach any more? (i'm not a teacher btw)

Madlizzy Fri 27-May-11 19:49:53

Blimey, she's a harsh teacher! I know that my triplets would massively have struggled with that at Year 1. Try her with a number line maybe?

belindarose Fri 27-May-11 19:50:07

Sounds like she hasn't got a grasp of place value. Your idea of using a hundred square sounds sensible enough. Numicon would also be great as it's such a fantastic visual aid. Might help her numeracy in general. Anyway, I'd play around with place value activities for a while.
www.topmarks.co.uk/Flash.aspx?f=PVChartv8