Talk

Advanced search

Guided reading for Y5 - teachers/LSA's please help...

(29 Posts)
halfapoundoftreacle Fri 26-Nov-10 13:58:50

I have an interview for a job as a LSA next week at a school I have never worked in before. I've volunteered with Y5 children before now but I am having a confidence crisis!

The start of the interview process will be me sitting with a small group of Y5 children of 'mixed ability'. I am to use a text of my choice but 'high visual and low text'.

I was thinking of reading some descriptive text to them (Roald Dahl's BFG is my first thought) and then asking them to write down questions about the characters or setting. Then using these questions in a free forum to discuss the answers.

It's just the 'high visual low text' thing that's thrown me and put me off this idea.

When I think if high visual books I think of Julia Donaldson and more young reading books. Would that be suitable still? Oh Man! I'm panicking...

piscesmoon Fri 26-Nov-10 14:20:05

Have you thought of reading a poem instead. The Highwayman by Alfred Noyes is printed as a book see here Amazon
I got it from the library. Yr 5 loved it, there is love interest for the girls and the boys loved the action (terribly sexist but true)and lots to discuss.
I would avoid getting them to write anything-keep it fairly lively.
That was just the top of my head-I will have a think and get back.
Good luck.

piscesmoon Fri 26-Nov-10 14:26:27

If you look at my link you can see inside the book and the language is fantastic 'the wind was a torrent of darkness among the gusty trees' etc.

WowOoo Fri 26-Nov-10 14:28:21

Your local library may have a big book section. Ask librarians too. They're usually really helpful.

If you google guided reading yr 5 you'll come across suggestions for texts.

I'd avoid writing Q's. It's reading, not writing. Have some Q's ready thought out though.

A poem sounds great - loads of potential there.