Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

Is it normal for Nursery teacher to do a home visit?

(21 Posts)
mosschops30 Sun 06-Jul-08 15:57:36

ds starts nursery (attached to a primary school, but not the one he's attending).
They are doing a home visit for every parent and child hmm

This strikes me as somewhat bizarre, never had it with dd.
I am starting to think they just want to be nosey and get an idea of the background of their children, which IMHO is pretty wrong.

I dont care, we live in a nice house in a good area, Im just pissed off I'll have to clean wink

So is this normal?

shatteredmumsrus Sun 06-Jul-08 15:59:40

Yes both my sons had home visits. Assuming it is everyone and not just you being visited. They are coming to see you not if you have dusted! I know you will dust anyway tho ha ha

AlexanderPandasmum Sun 06-Jul-08 16:00:04

Yes it is quite normal IME. I am a teacher and my school does it. I have heard of most other schools doing it too.

I think the idea is to chat to the parent(s) and find out what the child is like in their home environment, rather than to snoop!

BettySpaghetti Sun 06-Jul-08 16:02:05

They do home visits prior to the children starting reception at the primary school DD goes to.

As its an oversubscribed, much sought after school I think they do home visits to check that people do in fact live where they say they live IYSWIM.

Could this be the case with the nursery? Is it v. popular and dependent on catchment areas?

mosschops30 Sun 06-Jul-08 16:02:57

Yes every child has a home visit.

Im sorry but I dont buy that 'seeing a child in the home environment' bullshit. What a lot of rubbish.
Its an opportunity for them to make an assumption on each child before they even arrive.
Actually i think its pretty insulting.

It never happened with dd, and I had never heard of it before, they certainly dont do it at the primary school ds is going to.

Lol yes I will be dusting, hoovering and cleaning the toilet grin