Talk

Advanced search

Nursery school opinion?

(4 Posts)
horto Sat 20-Aug-11 13:28:16

Hi everyone! Haven't been here before but I was hoping for the opinion's of a few mum's please. I am a Nursery teacher (Montessori) and I have always wanted to open my own, very small Nursery school. I am now in a position to do this. To make it work, it needs to be slightly different to other Nursery schools and I am not sure if the differences will put parent's off:

It will be Montessori based yet also based, a great deal, on nature, self sufficiency and spending a huge amount of time outside growing, exploring, learning forest skills, etc.......will mum's be put off by the thought of their children getting cold, wet, very dirty? or by the risks of accidents or of eating what the children have grown? or by the price of good outdoor clothing? or by not knowing enough about the Montessori method?

Also, to make it work finincially (not to make money! But I do need to make a wage) and due to the day plan of the school and trips to the forest, farms, etc; The school needs to have one session per day running from 9.15-2.15. During term time only (38 weeks). I don't want to feel like I have to rush the children to fit the day's activities into just three hours. I have taught in classes where time is very limited and I want to enjoy my class time not clock watch and to be able to let the children do things in their own time. But will this long session put parent's off? It does also make the grant much more simple; three days covers the 15 hours! No top up and still two days at home to do other things!

Finally...feewwww! nearly the end of my loooong thread! The school will be small! less than 10 children and another member of staff with me. Is this too small for parents? It means that we can do so much more!

Thanks for taking the time to read this and any opinions, ideas on the school or advertising it (I know that this is my weak point) will be great! Thanks you!