Talk

Advanced search

parents who have had a premature baby

(23 Posts)
charlie1611 Sat 18-Oct-14 09:16:08

Hello,
I am currently a 2nd year Midwifery Student and I am doing an unmarked presentation to my peers on Tuesday regarding the implications of a premature birth.
I am wanting to steer away from what the text books say about how parents and family members feel and ask people their own feelings having experienced a premature birth. Whether this be that the Drs planned to bring baby early or not. If anyone would be kind enough to share their thoughts and feelings. It can simply be 1 word or a short paragraph. How you felt at the realisation that your baby was coming early, the first time you saw your little one, first visit to SCBU. Anything you feel comfortable sharing will help greatly. All comments will be presented anonymously.

Thankyou in advance xxx

Morrigu Sat 18-Oct-14 09:34:05

One word - terrified. Ds was born early due to IUGR from pre-eclampsia, had stopped growing and had an absent Doppler so the decision was made for a csection that day. He was only 6 weeks early but weighed 2lb odd. Honestly I blamed myself and my body for being unable to carry him properly.

The birth was surreal as I never got to see him, only this tiny blue-ish skinny thing being passed over me as he was whisked away to NICU. By then my bp had gone through the roof and I was kept under observation with medication and unable to go and visit him. Partner at the time did and brought me down a photograph. Eventually about 12 hours later they wheeled me up to NICU to see him. All the machines are pretty overwhelming and scary for a parent I think with alarms going off, the wires attached to their little bodies. I cried, and cried and cried, remember feeling like he wasn't mine. All the doctors and nurses had taken over the jobs I was meant to be doing if that makes sense. That was the feeling that most presided over the next month he was in.

Good luck for Tuesday.