Talk

Advanced search

Help please! What would you do? Opinions needed

(7 Posts)
Question50 Wed 20-Feb-19 18:25:58

I have just found out that I am 6 weeks pregnant and am desperately in need of some advice.
I am a 25 year old student nurse in my first year of university, who has found herself pregnant. I have a great relationship with my boyfriend of 5 years, who works full time. We don't live together, and money is our main concern about this pregnancy. We don't know if we will be able to afford to rent and survive on one low wage, especially with a child and the cost of childcare etc. We have some savings but not a massive amount. I am also concerned that if I continue with this pregnancy I will be unable to finish my course. I am desperate to become a nurse and have worked so hard to get this far. I am currently thinking about finishing year 1 and then taking a year out, before returning to complete my studies, but don't know if this is unrealistic. I am also (selfishly) worried about continuing with this pregnancy due to worrying about lifestyle changes- I am worried about missing out on holidays, travel, parties etc. None of my friends have children, and although I am 25 it just feels so young to be bringing a child into the world.
However, we have great family support and I am desperate to become a mum one day. I am worried about my future fertility, what if this is our only chance to become parents.
My boyfriend is quite keen for me to have an abortion, however he has said that he will support me and we will make it work either way. I am currently booked in to have an abortion next week, but I feel like I really need other people's opinions about what to do in this situation. We can't talk to anyone else about this, so please please, what would you do if this was you? Is there anything else that I need to consider. I know this is a decision for us / me, but I feel so confused. Help please!!

User1053051066 Wed 20-Feb-19 18:27:54