Talk

Advanced search

22 years old, 7 weeks preg, can't decide what's best.

(22 Posts)
Sophie0983 Mon 04-Feb-19 19:13:21

I did already ask MN about this in an old thread but still so confused and lost...

Title says it all really! me and my partner found out we were pregnant 3 weeks ago. Suspected ectopic, then suspected miscarriage, now all ok at 7 weeks. Rollercoaster already! We live together (rented) and have an amazing relationship, though only been together 6 months (but known each other through work for two years). He has a good job full time, I am in my final year of uni with 3 months to go, no job as of yet when I finish.

My mom, dad, and brother feel that I would be better off having a baby in a few years when I've got job security, we've got a mortgage and more money behind us. All fair although we do have a couple of grand in savings now. They feel I'm too young and we are both not ready to be parents.

My boyfriend feels that a termination would be devastating for him and traumatic for me, which we agree on. But we also agree on the fact that we haven't had much time alone, we would be giving away our younger years to raising a child and both feel we would like to have more holidays alone and just generally less to think about for a couple more years! At the same time, we would only like to get pregnant in 2/3 years time so is that enough time alone to want to justify an abortion right now? His sister has just had a baby, she's weeks old and it would be nice for them to grow up together. Argh.

It ultimately comes down to whether we have a termination to keep a couple more years to ourselves, or we go ahead and make the most of the 7/8 months left alone, including go on a holiday just us... what do you all think? honest opinions?

Bigonesmallone3 Mon 04-Feb-19 19:18:19

Keep it..
I had my first in a worse position than you but we had been together 6 months..
11 years later I wouldn't change a thing about my life..