Talk

Advanced search

This topic is for personal experiences or dilemmas; to debate the ethics of termination, please go here or here.

I'm 19 and pregnant

(22 Posts)
djurly Wed 15-Feb-17 23:27:56

I found this website a few minutes ago through google, and thought it might be a good place to get advice about my situation.

I'm 19 and a freshman in college, and I'm 3 or so weeks pregnant. I just found out about a week ago. My boyfriend (who I've been with for over 3 years) knows and is supportive of whatever decision I make.

I really don't think I'm prepared to be a mom at this point in my life. I've been on birth control for years but got off of it a month ago because the side effects were too much for me, and we used a condom but it was probably a bad one.

I also don't see how I could financially support a baby - I work a full time job in addition to going to school. I'm a youth cheer coach so my job requires a lot of physical activity, so I wouldn't be able to keep working if I kept the baby. My job pays a lot more than minimum wage so I wouldn't be able to replace my income with a different job.

I also don't have parents (I know that sounds weird) because I was in the foster care system my entire life until I was emancipated when I turned 17. So I wouldn't have that emotional/financial support. My boyfriend's family is really accepting of me and I go to all of their family events, etc. but I don't think it's the same as having my own family.

I guess right now I really think the best choice for me is to have an abortion but I feel really bad that that was such an "easy" decision for me to come to. I wanted to post here just to get some more opinions from objective people.

SallyInSweden Wed 15-Feb-17 23:30:56

I think if it has been an easy decision, you should go with that.
It is a sensible decision and you have nothing to feel bad/guilty/ashamed about

Notfastjustfurious Wed 15-Feb-17 23:37:58