Talk

Advanced search

This topic is for personal experiences or dilemmas; to debate the ethics of termination, please go here or here.

Unplanned pregnancy and partner doesn't want it.

(5 Posts)
user1483866324 Sun 08-Jan-17 09:30:19

Hello all. I am 5 months pregnant with my first child to a man I've been with for almost 7 years. I have been on the contraceptive pill for 6 of those years and did not miss any pills and fell pregnant.

After many arguments with my partner I decided to keep the child as I could not face abortion and maternal instinct kicked in.

When I told my partner I was pregnant the first thing he said is that he was going to leave me soon and that I should have an abortion because he doesn't want a child at all.

Neither of us wanted a child which is why I was on the pill and and I am also in my last year of university which makes things difficult. I still could not abort the child as I believe it's a living thing and that I should protect it.

Since then our relationship has gone downhill fast. While he makes it out to everyone that he is happy we are having good a baby in the meantime he constantly reminds me that having this baby is going to ruin his life. Any time I get pain or I'm tired his response is 'you wanted it' or if anything cost wise is brought up in relation to the baby he wants nothing to do with it and throws a strop about how this is not what he wanted.

My relationship is failing and 5 months on I still have a partner that doesn't want my child. I am heartbroken that it's working out like this because we were best friends and have loved each other a lot of years. Anyone have words of advice/similar situations that got better?

UnmentionedElephantDildo Sun 08-Jan-17 09:33:50

Are you in UK?

Because if so then you are too far along for a legal termination (I assume that's what you're asking about by picking this topic, not relationships or lone parenting)