Talk

Advanced search

This topic is for personal experiences or dilemmas; to debate the ethics of termination, please go here or here.

43 years old, looks as though contraception has failed. Can anyone talk?

(13 Posts)
QuantumCat Sat 03-Jan-15 13:10:13

I don't know where to put myself at the moment. I am having all the symptoms of pregnancy, but it's too soon to test. Possibly conceived 9 days ago. I have two DCs already, and the youngest has just started school, so I am just beginning to reclaim some of my own life after the demanding baby/toddler years.

I don't know what I need from this thread really, perhaps just a place to talk. The bpas and marie stopes offer counselling once pregnancy is confirmed, but it could take several days to get a positive test. If it does turn out positive. But I have nausea, abdominal cramps (implantation?) and sore breasts, and I don't think I can hold on to the theory that it's just a stomach bug.

DH is supportive, but also conflicted. His religious beliefs put him more in the pro-life camp, but at the same time he doesn't want another child. At this moment I don't think I want another child either, but my focus is on the practicalities - physical impact and risks of pregnancy at my age, and how it would impact on our other DCs, finances, work, etc. So I think at the moment we are dealing with this on different levels.

As yet I don't feel any strong emotional response, though maybe that will come later. My main feeling at the moment is that I don't want this to be happening to me, and I am fearful of making the wrong choice.

Can anyone help me to straighten out my head, or at least give me any tips for getting through the next few days of uncertainty?

steppeupunderthemisletoe Sat 03-Jan-15 13:20:56

So sorry you find yourself in this position, haven't got much useful to say, just didn't want your post to go unanswered.