Talk

Advanced search

Would you like to be a member of our research panel? Join here - there's (nearly) always a great incentive offered for your views.

I'm new at this and really firghtened....

(15 Posts)
LauraFirstTimeMum Thu 10-Sep-09 14:18:40

I have so many unanswered questions, and i have only recently found out i am pregnant. I have been with my partner for over a year, and this was totally unplanned. I have no idea when my last period was, so have no idea what to tell the doctor/midwife. I would really apreciate any help/guidance anyone can give me. Please don't think i am a bad person, it was just really unexpected, and i'm still in a bit of shock. I'm tired, emotional, and frightened.

rubyslippers Thu 10-Sep-09 14:20:57

aw - PG can be very over whelming even if it is "planned"

firstly, call your GP and get an appt

do not worry about your LMP date at this point

they won't think you are a bad person either smile

are you taking folic acid? If not, then get some supplements and stop drinking and smoking if you are

try to relax and talk to your partner ...

good luck

TheOldestCat Thu 10-Sep-09 14:21:45

No-one will think bad of you! I'm sorry you're in shock about this right now.

I've no specific advice to offer, but just wanted to offer a bit of support. Have you spoken to your partner about how you feel?

Don't worry about not knowing your last period date; the doctor/midwife will know how to help you. Perhaps ring your surgery, explain you're pregnant and ask what happens next? Some practical help might make you feel better emotionally too.

claricebeansmum Thu 10-Sep-09 14:23:27

Laurafirsttimemum - welcome! You have come to the right place. You are not alone for sure and there are always loads of people around for support, chat and a laugh grin.

It is daunting - even those who plan their pregnancies are overwhelmed. DS was a bit of a surprise and DH and I were worried we wouldn't even know which way up to hold a baby!