Talk

Advanced search

Would you like to be a member of our research panel? Join here - there's (nearly) always a great incentive offered for your views.

Slow heartbeat and and measuring 6wks 5days at 7wks 6day scan, very scared, any reassurance?

(14 Posts)
MrsNozzle Fri 04-Sep-09 13:09:49

Hi all - complete newbie here, so hello - and help!!

I got a BFP after ICSI and 2 embryos transferred on 27th July. According to calculations I am 8 weeks or thereabouts today. Had a scan yesterday and and the nurse found a single egg sac and fetal pole but it was measured at 6wks 5days. (Around 7mm). I also had some bleeding but it did stop about a week and a half ago. Had some great symptoms such as painful tits and heartburn, but they both seem to have stopped as of yesterday. Don't even know if that's all psychosymatic?? (sp.)

Both the nurse and DH thought they could see a heartbeat (I couldn't but I have rubbish eyesight!) but it was very slow (more like an adult's). I've got another scan next wednesday. After worrying myself silly I spoke to the nurse again this morning and she admitted it's not as she would have expected at this stage and we should know for def next week for sure whether the pregnancy is going to be viable or not.

I know there's nothing else I can do at this stage, but is there anyone out there with similar stories that turned out OK (or not, even?) I'm 40 and it just feels like I'm getting to the end of any chance I have to have baby.

Any responses greatly appreciated and thanks for reading

Mrs N. XX

boodleboot Fri 04-Sep-09 14:36:42

oh dear. just read your post and am so sorry to hear that. really hoping that it all turns out to be ok.

MrsNozzle Fri 04-Sep-09 19:47:25

Thanks boodleboot for your kind words.

Does anyone else have any experiences of this and how it turned out?

pinkypanther Fri 04-Sep-09 20:33:26

Hello Mrs N. I am so sorry to hear that things are so up in the air. Big hugs to you.