Talk

Advanced search

Would you like to be a member of our research panel? Join here - there's (nearly) always a great incentive offered for your views.

20 wk scan - achondroplasia? Experiences please???

(10 Posts)
sleepwhenidie Wed 02-Sep-09 15:37:04

Have just had 20wk scan and pretty much all of the measurements are very low (not on scale) after normal 12 week scan previously. Have to see consultants for more scans and possibly amnio tomorrow but we are being told that causes could be growth restriction (but they say unlikely for it to be this obvious at 20 wks) or more likely some form of dysplasia such as achondroplasia. Anyone experienced any of this? What was outcome for you please (good or bad).

Deemented Wed 02-Sep-09 15:52:22

I'm sorry - i have no experience of this, but didn't want your post to go unanswered. You must be incredibly worried.

CMOTdibbler Wed 02-Sep-09 16:02:58

Emkana's son is growth restricted and iirc it was diagnosed at 20 weeks as well. I'll try and find her to push her over this way.

The Restricted Growth Association provide support for parents, and would be well worth calling

sleepwhenidie Wed 02-Sep-09 16:57:42

thanks for responses - yes DH and I are very worried sad. We had small scares with scans for DS [told high chance of DS/dysplasia] and DD [again told DS likely so we had CVS] and everything turned out to be fine but all of the measurements are so low with this one that we think our luck must have run out and there has to be something seriously wrong.

TheDMshouldbeRivened Wed 02-Sep-09 17:01:30

I see Dibbler has posted the restricted growth web site. And watch 'Little Poeple' so you can see that even if your baby has thins condition he or she will lead a full and normal life.

TheDMshouldbeRivened Wed 02-Sep-09 17:36:15

here
just been reading it. Hadn't realised its actually quite rare. 1 in 15000. compared to cerebral palsy which is 1 in 400.