Talk

Advanced search

Would you like to be a member of our research panel? Join here - there's (nearly) always a great incentive offered for your views.

39+5, diagnosed with high bp, taking medication. Do you rest or carry on as normal?

(13 Posts)
HeinzSight Tue 11-Aug-09 12:54:05

Been thoroughly checked for pre-eclampsia, all OK there, but bp still high, went up on Sunday. I've been prescribed meds, but doctor yesterday told me to do lots of walking and eating curry to bring on labour.

Should I be walking around a lot or should I be taking it easy. I'm afraid to say the doc I saw at the hospital yesterday didn't fill me with much confidence!

ministryofsleep Tue 11-Aug-09 12:59:46

I'm no expert but I would take it easy as rushing around can raise your BP. I also had high BP in the last 4 weeks of pregnancy and was eventually induced at 39+6 as I was starting to show early signs of pre eclampsia. Someone else may be along soon to offer some better advice but I am a bit hmm of a doctor telling someone heavily pregnant and with high BP to do lots of walking

HeinzSight Tue 11-Aug-09 13:03:49

I was doing lots of hmm about her yesterday!

HeinzSight Tue 11-Aug-09 13:11:26

anyone else?

HeinzSight Tue 11-Aug-09 13:17:34

bump

3littlefrogs Tue 11-Aug-09 13:18:12

Rest. Walking around and eating curry will not help to bring on labour, it will just make you tired, and give you indigestion.

There is NO EVIDENCE that any of these things will bring on labour.

If your BP is high, you need to rest to improve the circulation through the placenta.

HeinzSight Tue 11-Aug-09 13:24:55

thank you, I'm glad I looked into this as I was keeping myself busy this morning hoovering and mopping!

Mouette Tue 11-Aug-09 18:36:38

I would say rest, I had high BP in late pregnancy and was told to stay at home and take it very easy. My doctor was a senior obstetrician at Queen Charlotte hospital so I trusted him completely.

3littlefrogs Tue 11-Aug-09 19:17:30