Talk

Advanced search

Would you like to be a member of our research panel? Join here - there's (nearly) always a great incentive offered for your views.

Scary Nuchal Blood Test results - really high hcG

(16 Posts)
SasD Tue 28-Jul-09 21:15:48

I am new to Mumsnet but have read some really good advice on here so thought I woulde ask if any of you ladies can advise me on my recent blood test results.

At 12 wks pregnant I had a nuchal scan and the blood tests. Nuchal scan results were ok 1.97 but hcG level is 3.565 MoM and PAPP-A is 0.6165. I am 33 yrs old and they've given me a risk ratio of Down Syndrome of 1:80.

I have been really sick the last 4 months and they found ketones in my urine at 12 wk scan - could this affect any of the blood levels does anyone know? I am clutching at straws now!

Thanks in advance for any advice

HerNameWasLola Tue 28-Jul-09 21:47:27

Sorry to hear you're going through this. I don't have any personal experience of high hcg levels at nuchal, though I did have a problem with the other hormone levels in a previous pregnancy which was detected by the nuchal, so I have some idea what you're going through, and it's horrible sad

A friend of mine was given a high risk of Downs (1 in 38) when she had her first nuchal back around christmas time. She started a thread here and got some really helpful responses, so I hope they help you too. Her increased risk was based on the nuchal measurement rather than the hcg levels, but I'm pleased to report that she gave birth to a bouncing baby girl on 18th July - I hope your story has a similarly happy ending.

HerNameWasLola Tue 28-Jul-09 22:11:55

And here is the post I did to her at the time. (Although her situation was different from yours in a sense as she had more or less decided she wanted to proceed to an amnio/CVS so that she would know for sure whether her LO had DS.)