Talk

Advanced search

Would you like to be a member of our research panel? Join here - there's (nearly) always a great incentive offered for your views.

3rd baby and suffering with severe anxiety

(6 Posts)
jenn321 Tue 14-Jul-09 11:07:52

hi this is my first time posting, im 23 and 35 weeks pregnant with m 3rd baby (have a 5 yr old and 3 yr old). i started suffering from panic attacks and health anxiety after the birth of my first child but i took meds to help. now i cant stop worrying and having panic attacks, im at the doctors almost every day thinkng something is wrong with the pregnancy (even though everythng seems fine). i keep getting overwhelming fear of the birth even though i had 2 easy deliverys before. to top it all of i hve my scan next week to see if my placenta has moved as it was a little on the low side at 20 weeks. i just hate feeling like something is going t happen and i wont be here to see our new baby was just wondering if anyone else felt the same i feel like im the only one.

Ladyem Tue 14-Jul-09 17:12:31

I really feel for you, jenn321. sad I have suffered with anxiety and panic attacks in the past and it is awful. Completely takes over your life. I can't believe that the Drs haven't done something more to help you. Perhaps talk to your midwife about it and see if she can recommend anyone to talk to.

I know it sounds mad, but I had a few sessions of hypnotherapy, and while I usually say 'no way' to alternative therapies it really helped me, to the point that I am now 100% better and have gone from being terrified to leave the house, pick up the phone etc, to leading a much more normal life. I'm still a worrier and probably always will be, but I am soooo much better. I also used the 'natal hypnotherapy' cds when I was pregnant with DD and found that really useful and did not fear the birth at all. In fact, I'm 32 weeks now and thinking of digging it out again!!

Hope you find some help soon and you are not alone, so demand help!