Talk

Advanced search

Would you like to be a member of our research panel? Join here - there's (nearly) always a great incentive offered for your views.

Sonicaid or Pinard? Which do you prefer?

(12 Posts)
EccentricaGallumbits Wed 03-Jun-09 10:01:55

I'm a student midwife bogged down in an essay and would appreciate a 'real' mother's view.

When you see your midwife which do they use to listen in to the baby's heartbeat?

which do you like her to use? and why?

Any replies greatly appreciated. TIA

mrswee Wed 03-Jun-09 11:51:30

HI

I have only had a doppler (sonicaid) used on me so far. I like it because I can hear the heart beat too which I presume I wouldn't if the midwife was using a pinard.. unless she let me have a go myself?

Beccabump Wed 03-Jun-09 21:31:38

Hi, I too have only ever had a sonicaid used in both my pregnancies. I like it as I can hear it straight away.

Kathyis6incheshigh Wed 03-Jun-09 21:33:46

PMSL I saw the thread title and thought it was a babynames thread grin

I had dd with me at the appointment the other day and it was lovely that dd could hear it - don't know what she was using but if that means it was Sonicaid, then that one, definitely!

MrsBonJovi Wed 03-Jun-09 21:34:28

I liked being able to hear the babys heartbeat. I always felt disappointed if I didnt hear it at my appts!

thisisyesterday Wed 03-Jun-09 21:37:06

mine have only ever used sonicaid. am on my 3rd baby and no-one has used a pinard on me.

personally though, i wouldn't be bothered either way I don't think. as long as the midwife was using whatever she was happiest with.
don't like the gel with the sonicaid, i guess you don't have to have that if they're using a pinard

EccentricaGallumbits Thu 04-Jun-09 16:58:26

thanks ladies.

Has anyone had a midwife use a Pinard?

littlelamb Thu 04-Jun-09 17:10:14

Mine used a pinard in labour with ds. SHe was very hands off and only used in a handful of times in between contractions. I hardly noticed it.