Talk

Advanced search

Would you like to be a member of our research panel? Join here - there's (nearly) always a great incentive offered for your views.

bicornuate uterus

(9 Posts)
kitkatbaby Thu 23-Apr-09 18:07:11

hello all, its my first time here and i really need your help!

my dr told me at an early pregnancy scan 4 weeks ago (im now 12!) that i have a bicornuate uterus or 'heart shaped womb' (sounds romantic eh?)and that this caries increased risk of miscarriage/prematurity and breech delivery.

is there anyone out there who has dealt with this or who has any advice to offer a worried lady? please help

BlueChampagne Thu 23-Apr-09 20:45:31

I know someone who also has this and has had 3 miscarriages after DD, but all occurred before 12 weeks so hopefully you're all set now! Her DD was delivered perfectly normally. Good luck.

FluffyBunnyGoneBad Thu 23-Apr-09 20:52:27

My sister has one of these. She also has fibroids so after a couple of miscarriages, she now has a healthy little boy. It's something she's had since birth according to the literature. There can be different types, some uteruses can be split into 2 sections, others have a slight indent in the top. The uterus is designed to stretch in pregnancy. My sister's miscarriages happened really early on (5 and 7 weeks IIRC). She did deliver early through a cesarean section as her blood pressure was very, very high so I'm not sure if this was related to the shape of her uterus. I probably have not helped but it didn't appear to affect her pregnancy.

chatee Thu 23-Apr-09 20:55:41

search in the archives as i know that this topic has been covered before as i know that i have posted before(but sadly am just going out so don't have chance to stay and chat)

Sn0wflake Fri 24-Apr-09 22:13:06

I have one. I'm 24 weeks with my first and I'm having a very easy pregnancy so far. Blood pressure better than when I started strangely. I got pregnant first month I tried.