Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

Would you like to be a member of our research panel? Join here - there's (nearly) always a great incentive offered for your views.

Pain, bleeding and scan showing 'empty uterus' - but hCG still high

(8 Posts)
Colsy Fri 24-Oct-08 13:46:32

Hello, I'm very new to all of this - both the pregnancy thing and the talkboards thing.

I am very sorry for posting this again, but I realised that I didn't give my last post a title, so probably nobody read it. I hope it works right this time ... and perhaps even somebody out there who's been through what I describe might give me some teensy weensy ray of hope.

I am not really sure why I am writing this post. It is, I think, sort of a way for me to deal with what is happening to me right now. This is like another person to talk to. (My partner is amazing, but he is just one person.)

Maybe too I am hoping that somebody else has gone through what I am going through and might give me some little ray of hope ... although I think I need to accept that that ray of hope is not very bright.

Anyway, my story ... I am/was five to six weeks pregnant. I started bleeding very lightly on Weds morning. My GP said not to worry too much and to wait and see ... Weds night I woke up with really bad cramps, like period pains, and there was loads more bleeding. It was fresh red blood.

I went to A&E, and they transferred me to the gynae unit in another hospital. The on-call doctor did an internal exam and said the cervix was still tightly closed so could be a threatened miscarriage.

I was admitted to the ward. Continued to be in pain (although this reduced with IV paracetamol) and lots more bleeding, but not really clots, just fluid.

They then did an abdominal ultrasound with a very full bladder (was desperate to pee!), and the sonographer said straight to the point "The uterus is entirely normal. If you were pregnant, then you've miscarried completely."