Maternity leave and notice period

(10 Posts)
alessandra27 Mon 26-Oct-20 19:48:21

Hi everyone,

In a bit of a quandary about the best way to go about things with regards to maternity leave and was hoping for a bit of advice.

So I’m a teacher and am due March. I’m scheduled to go on maternity leave February half term HOWEVER we have recently sold our flat and are have bought in a new area 2 hours away so although work don’t know yet, I won’t be returning after maternity.

We are due to be moved out of our flat by Christmas but can’t move into the new house until end of February so if I don’t leave work until February half term, we’ll have to stay in a cheap hotel which we can’t really afford, even if it meant keeping my pay. I considered handing in notice this October ready to leave by Christmas, but as this is before the 15th week before my due date, I would then be eligible for SMP.

So now I’m trying to decide which option to choose:

A. Hand in my notice at the 15 week point before due date so that I’m still eligible for SMP and then start maternity leave early in January - I prefer the idea of this as I can say goodbye to the school etc but can I hand in my notice period and then take maternity leave during my notice period? Do I have to work during my notice period? I’m scared that doing this will affect my SMP in some way or won’t be permitted.

B. Start my maternity leave early in January without handing in my notice and wait until I’m well into my maternity to tell give my resignation - a safer option to not jeopardise my SMP but there’s no good reason to start maternity so early so I know they’ll ask me difficult questions and I’ll have to lie about moving/quitting

I just don’t know what to do - it’s a small school so I just don’t feel comfortable lying to my colleagues and can’t figure out how to do the right thing while not sabotaging myself with SMP.

Sorry for the garbled nature of this and thanks in advance!

OP’s posts: |