Talk

Advanced search

Mat B1 forms - time limit

(16 Posts)
SilverLining89 Fri 07-Aug-20 09:29:22

Hi everyone,

I'm 28 +6, due 24/10. As a school teacher I have been off since March and haven't had a chance to hand back my Maternity leave forms to HR at my workplace. I intended to do it this week, but despite having two midwife appointments now(!) I keep forgetting to ask for the Mat B1 forms to give to my employer.

I have another midwife appointment at 32 weeks on 01/09 and will ask for them then.

Is there a time limit on when this can be done? I'm just worried my employer can suspend maternity pay or amend the amount depending on when I hand it in ...

I think when I get to the appointments I'm so anxious to be measured and excited to hear baby, I just forget! grin

OP’s posts: |
Thegirlhasnoname Fri 07-Aug-20 09:45:35

I think it depends on your employers and how strict they are about it.

I know somebody who didn’t get hers until 29 weeks; her employers are fine about it but her husbands work said that he is not eligible to take paid paternity leave due to it being late

HeeeeyDuggee Fri 07-Aug-20 09:48:29

My employer are pretty strict and insist it’s given in by 25 weeks. With Ds2 I missed this because I was in hospital so they told me to send it in and wrote a covering letter explaining. No hassle but I’d say it’s worth speaking to your HR team to clarify as some places can be a right pain and forgetting to ask for it might not be considered a valid reason

Also you don’t need to see your midwife you can ask her to leave it at reception for you

Newmummyxx Fri 07-Aug-20 09:48:32

Hey I also work in a school and just sent my form over at 23 weeks. I’ve heard that they should be sent in before 25 weeks or it could delay your maternity pay. You could ring up the doctors/midwife and ask if you can collect it asap. x

SilverLining89 Fri 07-Aug-20 10:13:07

Hi ladies, thanks very much for your replies smile