Talk

Advanced search

Baby drama

(9 Posts)
Butterflyheart Sun 24-May-20 21:42:52

I'm driving myself mad here, so wanted to reach out to others who may be in the same position who can offer advice etc.

I've been with my partner for nearly 5 years and he keeps saying he wants kids but keeps moving the goalposts along. I have a child from a previous relationship, so I assume it's because he's scared.
At first it was we'll wait two years, now it's four years later and he's decided that now we need to have a bigger house (we have a 3 bed already), we need careers (I've been working my backside off to get more experience as I have a degree and a Master's) and we need an abundance in savings... Then he's added on the fact we would have to get married. It used to be my ''fantasy'' to get married but not anymore, why would we spend all that money for a piece of paper. I don't have family as I'm estranged from my parents and I'm an only child myself.

It is starting to get me down now as all I see is people having little bundles of joy, and whilst I'm grateful and so proud of my daughter, I don't want her to grow up as an only child like me, it's so lonely and depressing.

I can't talk to my friends about this, because they don't really offer any help, they just tell me that somehow ''I have to convince him'', well that isn't going to work. This could be the deal-breaker in our relationship I think. sad

OP’s posts: |
CocoR Sun 24-May-20 21:56:50

How old are you both?

Butterflyheart Sun 24-May-20 22:07:40

I'm 28, he is 32

lockdownpregnancy Sun 24-May-20 22:41:41

Hi OP. You need to sit your DP down and have a serious chat about everything and ask him straight and also let him know that you think his motives are delaying tactics and see what he says.
You also need to share with him how you feel (if you haven't already) and set out a way to move forward with your relationship.