Talk

Advanced search

Pregnant? See how your baby develops, your body changes, and what you can expect during each week of your pregnancy with the Mumsnet Pregnancy Calendar.

Is work trying to get rid of me

(17 Posts)
lilliannrose Tue 05-Dec-17 09:07:58

I work as a receptionist at a privately run dental practice and I don't know if I am being overly sensitive because I am preggers or...but in the last couple of months my boss has turned into a right arse to say the least. He's done nothing but made me feel inadequate at my job; he even complained when I had to attend an early scan due to spotting because I hadn't given him "sufficient" notice. I returned to work yesterday after having been signed off sick by the doc. I couldn't believe the changes....there always seem to be a new rule implemented daily. The manager who never works Mondays had been asked in to work reception and so I spent the whole day sitting there looking like a lemon because there's nothing else I could do since it's such a small practice. I felt humiliated! Like I am not good enough. I just can't wait to leave! Just biding my time until I go on maternity leave which unfortunately won't be until May.

lightcola Tue 05-Dec-17 09:14:10

Hmm tough one. Did you ask why your colleague came in to do reception? Were they not expecting you back? You are entitled to time off for scans so he should keep his grumbles to himself. I would keep a written note of everything just in case you need to make a formal complaint.

lilliannrose Tue 05-Dec-17 10:22:18

@lightcola yeah! I asked if she was just here half of the day turned out the boss wanted her in the full day and as there's only one function computer in reception I found I kept getting booted off for her to use it. Yeah I think I might start keeping a note.

lilliannrose Tue 05-Dec-17 10:24:00

@lightcola and yes I was expected back which is why I found it quite surprising she was there. I didn't get much of a warm welcome back anyway.