Talk

Advanced search

A poo one

(16 Posts)
zaalitje Tue 31-Oct-17 08:04:27

Can't believe that I'm asking this but I'm hugely constipated, have both Fybogel and Lactulose but they don't seem to do much.

Anyway I find I'm straining A LOT when I need to go, could someone just reassure me that the huge amount of straining and pushing to poo won't induce a miscarriage.

I've had losses previously, and even without that I'm quite an anxious over thinker.

Ilovechocolate111 Tue 31-Oct-17 08:08:19

Pushing for a pop can stain you uterus or give you piles. Have you tried prune juice.
If i ate some fig biscuits I needed to poop all the time. smile

Lozmatoz Tue 31-Oct-17 08:14:17

Drink a big glass of water with your lactulose, it drawers water from
The bowel so you need it. I also chomp through a pack of prunes every week.

I highly doubt that straining will make you miscarriage, but I’m not a medical professional.

tootsieglitterballs Tue 31-Oct-17 09:11:58

I had the same problem last week or so... it was awful.

Dates
Black coffee
Orange juice
Dried apricots

Take a good book or magazine to the loo with you, and use your birthing techniques when it comes to getting it out! Don’t strain too much, blowing works well!

Foggymist Tue 31-Oct-17 09:31:56

It won't cause a miscarriage but it will likely cause piles, which may haunt you forever if they are bad enough from a lot of straining.

SomedayMyPrinceWillCome Tue 31-Oct-17 09:48:44

As PPs have said, you need to really increase the amount of water you are drinking. Lactulose works by pulling water into the bowel to make the faeces softer. The more you drink the better it can work

zaalitje Tue 31-Oct-17 14:13:33

I think I am drinking about 2.5 litres a day, possibly more, but do frequently feel thirsty but drinking more just makes the heartburn worse.
How much should I be drinking? 3+ litres sounds a lot!