Advanced search

Morning sickness and work

(9 Posts)
Lilleahw Fri 27-Oct-17 09:41:28

Hi everyone. I'm only 5 weeks but morning sickness has started already. Yesterday I called in sick and just spent a day in bed, today I rang back to tell them the reason I'm off. After giving me congratulations told me they'd covered my shifts upto Monday. Then 10mins later they called back to say I need a doctor's note to prove its pregnancy related, other wise it goes down as an item. Does this sound right? When I was a manager in my old job we just took the employees word?

LadyRenoir Fri 27-Oct-17 17:06:08

Depends on the regulations of the workplace perhaps- where I I can self-certify being unwell for 5 days maximum, anything over that I need a doctor's note. So if you can, see if you can see a GP, but maybe also ask them for employees handbook, as it should have such things mentioned in there.

Hairgician Fri 27-Oct-17 17:36:43

Think they mean it goes on your sick absence record if not down as pregnancy related. If you can, get your go to do a sidenote to say it pregnancy related. I know in my last office job, they didn't do anything 're disciplinary stuff til you return to work (obv if pregnancy stuff we just had a back to work interview where they asked how you were and any adjustments etc, you were told at that meeting no further action as pregnancy related)

Hairgician Fri 27-Oct-17 17:37:28

LadyRenoir Fri 27-Oct-17 18:37:38

It would probably count as sick leave anyway- but maybe what they meant it would be leave of absence if no evidence it's medical?
Best to clarify with the employer, as each may have different rules regarding

Ameliablue Fri 27-Oct-17 18:47:58