Talk

Advanced search

If you put on 10kg in pregnancy, how quickly did the weight come off?

(20 Posts)
hufflepuff3 Thu 12-Oct-17 11:45:22

Hi everyone, I’m new to mumsnet so bear with me.

I’m pregnant with my first child and have been tracking my weight progress on a pregnancy weight gain calculator online. I’ve consistently been putting on the minimum amount of weight on the chart and at 28 weeks have put on 6kg which brings me in line to put on a total of 10-11kg once I get to 40 weeks.

My problem is I’m lazy and don’t eat that well. How quickly will the weight come off after I give birth?

reallyanotherone Thu 12-Oct-17 11:50:08

No way to tell. It comes of easily for some, not for others.

Some people find breastfeeding makes them drop weight very quickly, others have a change in metabolism which means their bodies hang on to every calorie and can’t lose weight until they stop bf.

No way of knowing which you’ll be.

But 10kg in a pregnancy isn’t much at all. You say you’re lazy and don’t eat well, but you obviously pay enough attention to your diet and weight to track and stick to a 10kg weight gain. Unless you are very overweight to start, 12 kg is average.

PandaCat Thu 12-Oct-17 11:51:39

I'm not sure what I weighed at the end of my first pregnancy but a few weeks after she was born I only weighed 7lbs (about 3kg I think) more than my pre-pregnancy weight.

Unfortunately, I gained weight in the years to follow so not much help!

ChocolatePancake Thu 12-Oct-17 11:56:30

I put on way more than this! Lost it within weeks with my second but struggled with my first

hufflepuff3 Thu 12-Oct-17 11:57:40