Talk

Advanced search

Where did you get early pregnancy advice and support?

(5 Posts)
KittenCamile Thu 12-Oct-17 09:32:02

Hi,

I am very newly pregnant for the first time (4 weeks 4 days) and am wondering were everyone got their early pregnancy advice?

We had ivf but the hospital don't do anything until my 8 week scan, I have informed my GP as I have progesterone and needed a prescription but they don't do anything till after my 8 week scan either.

Am a bit lost now! This is my first time, it has taken 5 years to get to this and now it feels a little lIke your not really pregnant until after your 12 or 8 week scan.

The hospital didn't prepare me for actual pregnancy just having ivf. Am unsure what I do now? Any advice? What to expect? What's normal?

Many thanks

2014newme Thu 12-Oct-17 09:37:32

Was in exactly the same position I know what you mean. Signed off from The ivf clinic but the NHS isn't interested till 12 weeks. It's like a void especially after years of intensive medical care having ivf.
Also the NHS care tends to be rather rushed compared to the private clinic think peeling walls rather than lattes.
It's just waiting game I'm afraid, I found it very stressful. I did have twins 4th I found cycle and so I had consultant care and extra scans which helped.
Best if luck to you I remember this being a very anxious time.

Lozmatoz Thu 12-Oct-17 09:42:37

First of all you need to contact the midwife. Where I live you don’t need to see the GP but phone their reception and they will give you the details of midwife, i’ll tell you how it works where you are, then you can make your first appointment. How to basic details with you and book you in for your initial blood tests. Then I’ll be your scan, sounds like you’ll be having an extra one at a earlier stage which will be reassuring rather than waiting to the 12 weeks.