Talk

Advanced search

Just found I'm pregnant - DF doesn't want to keep it

(25 Posts)
FluffySlippers21 Mon 09-Oct-17 16:47:08

Hello!
This is my first post but I was unsure of where else to ask advice.
I've been with my DF (darling fiancé) for just over a year and have just got engaged with plans to get married within eighteen months and then start trying for children a couple of years after marrying.
Well I've just found out I'm 5 weeks pregnant!😧
My DF doesn't want this baby, citing that the timing isn't right, we don't have the money and his family would disapprove.
I'm currently in my first year of training to be a nurse which is his biggest issue as I'm not even close to qualifying yet and do not have a steady job or steady income.
I understand his argument and logically I agree with the points he is making, however my maternal instinct has kicked in and I want this baby so bad. I can't imagine not keeping our child.
We are both still young - 22 and 25
Has anyone got any advice on how to handle this situation and what they would do in my position?

Loopytiles Mon 09-Oct-17 16:50:34

It’s not his decision: it’s solely yours. It’d be sensible to think through the (most likely) scenario that if you do have a DC you will be a single parent.

You haven’t been together long: with that and your young age engagement is premature IMO.

PaleMoonRising Mon 09-Oct-17 16:51:40

I would take out anyone else's views out of the equation for start. Nothing to do with them and don't need their approval. Also I don't know is anyone who was completely financially ready to have children. From what you've said I think you would regret not keeping the baby. Bug only really you can decide....not even your DF can make you terminate flowers

quarterpast Mon 09-Oct-17 16:52:17