Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

Would you like to be a member of our research panel? Join here - there's (nearly) always a great incentive offered for your views.

Girlfriend of 8 months pregnant.

(9 Posts)
time4takeoff Thu 06-Jul-17 19:07:18

Hi all,

I am after some advice on what to do.

I have been with my girlfriend for the past 8 months we don't live together but see each other every weekend. We live 2 hours drive away from each other. I work full time as an engineer and live in a house share and she works as a live in au pair looking after 2 children working long hours.

When we first started sleeping with each other she told me that she isn't on the pill because it makes her depressed so I wore a condom when having sex until only a month ago I stopped and she said it is better without.

A few days ago she told me she hasn't had a period for 7 weeks so I asked her to do a pregnancy test. The result came up as pregnant...

I now have a mixture of feeling I feel like an idiot for not wearing a condom and feel guilty for now putting her in the situation we are now in. We are both 30 and have talked about having kids for some time but didn't plan to have one right now as we don't live together and don't have a property to live in with a baby yet + finances are quite tight.

Ever since she has found out that she is pregnant she has been distant with me I feel like she is angry at me but isn't telling me. She keeps saying now isn't the time to have a baby and she is scarred which I understand. She said she would be heartbroken if she had an abortion and would be heartbroken if our daughter/son asked for something and we had to say no because we couldn't afford it.

I've told her we can work things out and take one thing at a time and I'll be there for her.