Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

Would you like to be a member of our research panel? Join here - there's (nearly) always a great incentive offered for your views.

Can I ask about cots? sleeping arrangements etc

(29 Posts)
owltrousers Sat 24-Jun-17 09:03:04

Hello!

Trying to plan ahead a bit as this will be our first baby. My parents have offered to buy us our travel system and my DH's parents have offered to buy any cots/moses baskets/cribs we might want.

My initial thought was to have a bedside crib with a drop down side like a Snuzpod and then a 'proper' cot for later on but DH thinks its a bit of a waste to have an expensive Snuzpod when really we can make do with a hand me down moses basket for 6 months. I personally like the idea of almost-co-sleeping and being able to reach to the baby for night feeds etc.

Is there such thing as a cot that sees them all the way through? What did you use/ get on with best?

Sorry for the complete noob question, trying to feel my way through!

Foggymist Sat 24-Jun-17 09:11:58

Lots of cots or cotbeds can drop one side off and be attached to the bed, there's an Ikea one that a lot of parents I know use. There's various ways to attach them, google Ikea cosleeping hack. We bought a beautiful cotbed but turned out it doesn't work with one side on, so we had to use a stupid set up of it in toddler bed mode pushed up against ours that has never really worked in the two years it's been there!

JigsawBat Sat 24-Jun-17 09:16:54

I will say that for many people, the Moses basket doesn't last for 6 months.

We bought a crib because it was bigger than a Moses basket. We didn't think the Moses basket would last, but the crib offered more space.

Still had to move DD out of our room at 12 weeks because she outgrew the crib and we couldn't fit a full cot in our room.