Talk

Advanced search

Would you like to be a member of our research panel? Join here - there's (nearly) always a great incentive offered for your views.

Having a MRI

(17 Posts)
AnaMaria88 Tue 07-Mar-17 23:46:19

I m having a fetal MRI on Thursday and I am terrified, anyone been through this? What to expect! Also scared that i read that is the baby is to active they will give me diazepam, this doesnt affects driving as I have a long drive from the hospital (Kings College London) to Grays and later on Grays to home, in Brighton!

nursebickypegs Tue 07-Mar-17 23:55:29

I was an MRI tech before I was a nurse, we rarely did these by the results were incredible. Have you had an MRI before?

AnaMaria88 Tue 07-Mar-17 23:59:18

Nope, is the first time! I dont know how to explain my feeling, I always done and will do anything for my health or my kids health, maybe I am just anxious, been through so many lately with this pregnancy, I would do anything just to know everything is ok

nursebickypegs Wed 08-Mar-17 00:08:55

Okay. First of all you will be asked to fill in a questionnaire. 20 or so questions like, do you have a pacemaker, tattoos, clips that can't be removed etc. It's just so they know what metal could be in you and not scan you if needs be.

You will be taken through, and you get changed into a very sexy hospital gown. Remove all your jewellery, hair bands, clips and your bra. Keep on your knickers!

The tech will take you through, and position you on the couch. Depending on the machine, they will place a "coil" across your tummy; this is essentially a huge bit of plastic which helps conduct a better image with the magnets.

You will be made comfortable with cushions and wedges, and given headphones. Sometimes you get music! You will be given a call bell, which you can press if you have had enough/scared/uncomfortable.