Talk

Advanced search

Would you like to be a member of our research panel? Join here - there's (nearly) always a great incentive offered for your views.

Buying budget stuff baby help!?

(19 Posts)
babyunicornvomit Mon 06-Feb-17 20:21:48

Hi,

So I'm only 16 weeks pregnant at the moment but I'm a student just finishing up with uni and my boyfriend has only been working full time for a year so our money isn't unlimited. I'm trying to save and budget for when the baby arrives (late July) - can anyone help with stuff we will need e.g. Obvious things like pram, cot, and less obvious things we might forget. How much will these things be? Has anyone bought them second hand, where from and would you recommend 2nd hand? Any good places to buy reasonable stuff from?

Basically we don't want to forget anything, or skimp on quality just for money. we want the little one to have the best start possible and be happy but as I said, we don't have loads of money xx

Bluebellevergreen Mon 06-Feb-17 20:29:00

NCT sales. Get your clothes super cheap. Dont buy things that you might not need, stick to basics

ILoveDolly Mon 06-Feb-17 20:30:35

Yes those baby sales are great for picking up bits. Likewise most areas now have a Facebook page where people sell baby and kids things.

nobodysnogslikejoebloggs Mon 06-Feb-17 20:34:01

Gumtree, eBay and your local Facebook baby stuff selling groups are great. Prams can range from £100-1000 so it's totally up to you how much you spend.

Baby clothes - for the first 3 months you just need basics - vests and sleepsuits. Mothercare, sainsburys and next are good for these.

NickyEds Mon 06-Feb-17 20:36:31

I think second hand is absolutely fine for clothes etc. I've bought loads of second hand stuff for my dc, mainly from table tots sales and nct sales with a few bundles from e bay. If I were having another my lists would be:

Brand new- car seat, mattress

Second hand-
Sling (I loved my Caboo and sold it for £20 in great condition)