Talk

Advanced search

Would you like to be a member of our research panel? Join here - there's (nearly) always a great incentive offered for your views.

Eeeek - positive pregnancy test!

(10 Posts)
MissSlinky Wed 01-Feb-17 13:42:57

Hi there,

I'm new to mumsnet. I'm 35 and don't have any kids (yet!). My man and I started trying at the start of the year & yesterday I got a clear blue early detection pregnancy test as I was three days late - a positive! Did another this morning - an even bolder positive. Eeeeeeekkkkkkkk! I'm so excited and utterly terrified at the same time smile

I had been saying to my man, it's going to take ages to get pregnant, might not happen at all at my age etc...then two goes at the right time and a positive test. I know I shouldn't get too excited, might miscarry or something but it's hard not to get excited. I've been wanting a child for years and hormones have been beyond crazy. Literally - sometimes if I walked down the street and saw a woman with a pram, I'd start crying - just thought it would never happen, plus I do have crazy hormones.

I've got a doctors appointment on Friday morning to see what the next steps are - as I don't have a Scooby about this pregnancy malarky. Think the man is stunned - I told him he must have super sperm lol - we are both really fit and healthy, neither of us smoke, he doesn't drink and I was on Dry January, so maybe that helped? Although I've been looking forward to a drink ALL month and now I think I'll just have to stay off it!

Can I tell my mum - only people that know are one friend and the man. I really want to tell my mum, she might freak but I need her support! Too early??

xx

mummabubs Wed 01-Feb-17 13:59:26