Talk

Advanced search

Would you like to be a member of our research panel? Join here - there's (nearly) always a great incentive offered for your views.

Pregnant working in LAC social work

(4 Posts)
unimamma91 Mon 16-Jan-17 16:19:33

Hi,
We are currently TTC and I am in my last year of my Masters social work degree. This would mean that I would be pregnant whilst on placement which starts in many and will be within a looked after children's statutory social work team. If I was to conceive this month I would be due within weeks of finishing placement end of September October.
I am just wondering if anyone works within this sector and would know if being pregnant would impact upon me working within that team? I know a risk assessment would have to be carried out but unsure of the outcome. I would hate to have to be dismissed from placement.

Thanks in advance for any advice 😊

hatgirl Mon 16-Jan-17 22:09:49

If i'm being completely honest I think you should get your final placement out of the way first.

Its just not worth putting yourself under that amount of pressure and being heavily pregnant all at the same time. If you take any time off sick or need additional study time during your placement you have to add the days on to the end of the placement. Thats going to be difficult for you to do if your due date is approaching.

I would say that about any stat final placement not just a LAC one. I urge you to reconsider, or leave it a few more months at least just to give yourself some breathing space on placement.

TwinkleStars15 Mon 16-Jan-17 22:20:42