Talk

Advanced search

Masters degree whilst pregnant?

(12 Posts)
SteppingOnToes Sun 01-Jan-17 06:13:19

Firstly - not tested yet so this is all theoretical
Secondly - I am 38 years old so not a young, new student

I am starting my masters in January (this January) and I have this feeling that I might be pregnant unplanned. I work full time and am doing the masters distance learning over two years.

Basically my question is - has anyone done this? Could I feasibly do a degree whilst pregnant and then on maternity leave (I'd plan on taking a year)? Or am I just being ridiculous?

Elllicam Sun 01-Jan-17 06:20:21

I did my masters while pregnant with DS1 and then with a newborn. It was mostly distance learning (with one study day a term) but over 3 years. I graduated at 8 months pregnant with DS2. It was tough but manageable.

SteppingOnToes Sun 01-Jan-17 06:22:56

Elllicam - thankyou so much for being the first poster and being positive. I really don't want to pass up on the opportunity to do it. I am a tough cookie so hopefully all will be OK

Elllicam Sun 01-Jan-17 06:30:25

You're welcome smile I found studying a welcome break from nappies and feeding. Good luck with testing and with your course.

SteppingOnToes Sun 01-Jan-17 06:32:31

Thanks Elllicam - I suppose that's one way to look at it smile

Canofpeas Sun 01-Jan-17 07:19:08

Go for it! I started my master with a newborn and had another by the time I graduated. It's hard but not impossible. A supportive husband is a big help.

Sparklyuggs Sun 01-Jan-17 08:07:54

I've gone back to uni at 30 and due at the end of July. All being well I'll sit my final exam in June, but if I have to defer then I'll start again in September. Not ideal but with family support I think I'll be just about ok.

Gardencentregroupie Sun 01-Jan-17 08:10:54