Talk

Advanced search

Would you like to be a member of our research panel? Join here - there's (nearly) always a great incentive offered for your views.

Maternity Pay as a freelancer (Ltd Company)

(14 Posts)
H0mers1mpson Sat 21-May-16 17:33:36

Hello everyone.

Apologies for the rather boring topic of a Saturday evening. I'm half sulking/half relishing some alone time on the sofa whilst DH attends a beery football BBQ.

I'm 23 weeks pregnant, and I'm a freelancer. I trade through my own company (I'm not a sole trader).

Does anyone have any experience with this kind of setup and claiming statutory Maternity Pay. I've skulked around the DWP website but it's not terribly clear, and I'm wondering what I'm entitled to, and when, and how to claim? I've skulked a lot, it's driving me to binge the chocolate shelf in the fridge, and I'm totally confused.

:D thanks

Colabottle10 Sat 21-May-16 23:16:11

Are you an employee of your company?

I am, of our own Ltd company. I gave my matb1 form to the accounts. They have worked out what my monthly pay is based on what I earned last year, and that's the amount the stat mp is based on that I will get direct from the government.

H0mers1mpson Mon 23-May-16 21:22:12

Hiya Cola

Thanks for getting back to me!

I am director of my company, and as such am also the only employee. So there's no accounts dept (aside from me at the kitchen table when it comes to tax return time).

Thanks again, I'll start by checking out the matb1 form

smile

iloveberries Tue 24-May-16 10:32:29

Do you have an accountant?

Colabottle10 Tue 24-May-16 13:49:20

Hi Homer. Same as me. Me and hubby are company directors but employees of the company.

We have accountants that do our payroll (for our staff - hub and I take a different amount each month which is then worked out by accountants as a yearly dividend at year end).