Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

Would you like to be a member of our research panel? Join here - there's (nearly) always a great incentive offered for your views.

Can I have my mirena coil removed when I'm on my period?

(16 Posts)
rausten Sat 02-Apr-16 09:57:58

Hello ladies!!

I am new to mumsnet, I am having my coil out on monday (April 4th). I have just started bleeding and am now panicking as it took ages to get an appointment. Can I still have it out if I'm bleeding???? I am loathed to book another one as my husband and I a desperate to start trying for baby number 2 and if I re book, it could easily be another 4 weeks before they can book me in again.

Thank you for your replies in advance

smile

lamusic Sat 02-Apr-16 10:01:12

Taken from nhs page
•It can be removed at any time by a specially trained doctor or nurse and you'll quickly return to normal levels of fertility.

MummySparkle Sat 02-Apr-16 10:02:08

I had a coil fitted on my period, logic says removal should be fine too

rausten Sat 02-Apr-16 10:04:11

Thank you so so much!!! I am so relieved. smile

It is very exciting, I can't wait to have another littleone.

x

MummySparkle Sat 02-Apr-16 12:31:56

Aww, that's lovely. The nurse was fine when I took mine out, I was embarrassed that I had bled on the chair a little and she told me it wasn't my fault, I couldn't help it and really put me at ease

MummySparkle Sat 02-Apr-16 12:39:18

*had mine fitted

My original one came out of its own accord

rausten Sat 02-Apr-16 13:13:02

Thank you. Now I just have the long eagerly anticipated wait until I fall with baby no. 2.

I have a window of time between 4-5 months before it will be a bit more difficult with work. I know that's major pressure but such is life with money etc lol.

MummySparkle Sat 02-Apr-16 23:54:46