Talk

Advanced search

Would you like to be a member of our research panel? Join here - there's (nearly) always a great incentive offered for your views.

feeling down

(13 Posts)
Filouisebaby1 Mon 14-Mar-16 18:45:05

dear all,
I am a first time mum currently 6 months pregnant. I am delighted to be pregnant (as is my partner) but I am really struggling with weigh gain and finding clothes to fit.
I was a size 12-16 shop pending before pregnancy but I feel as if I look horrific in everything I wear apart from my dressing gown. I hate looking at myself in the mirror and I am not wanting to go anywhere or do anything. I am a teacher and it is so difficult to find clothes that I don't have to spend a fortune on. I constantly feel down and I am really careful about what I eat - I always have been.
I can't wait to meet our little one and I am really excited about being a mum but I am really starting to hate pregnancy.When I speak to my friends they always just say 'you're growing a human!' - they've not had babies yet.
Has anyone else felt this way or am I alone?Thank you x

Murphyslaw21 Mon 14-Mar-16 18:53:08

Not alone.

I had bad back, sickness, food tasted bad, fat feet, hair was awful, weeing all the time, and worst of all the glow... My skin broke out in more spots it glowed...

But it's worth it, OMG so worth it

Filouisebaby1 Mon 14-Mar-16 18:57:14

Thank you. I'm glad it's not just me.
I am sorry you had all those things! I've been lucky with the sickness but the hair and weeing all the time I can sympathise!
Thank you for your reply x

Wait4nothing Mon 14-Mar-16 18:57:30

I'm feeling pretty big atm! (33 weeks) Also a teacher - my go tos for work are a range of dresses (some maternity - some borrowed in a larger size with stretch for the belly) with maternity leggings and a waterfall cardi. Weekends just maternity jeans and a range of tops. My problem is coat atm - doesn't quite close but it's too close to spring to buy anything now!