Talk

Advanced search

Would you like to be a member of our research panel? Join here - there's (nearly) always a great incentive offered for your views.

what sort of adjustments did your work make for you?

(5 Posts)
MissOnomer Fri 04-Dec-15 17:52:55

I'm 8 weeks pregnant. I told my line manager at 6 weeks as my job can involve some manual handling and I hoped she would suggest a risk assessment and some minor alterations. I'm an Occupational Therapist and sometimes have to lift wheelchairs and bath lifts into my car - not on a daily basis but probably at least once a week. I'm also 42 and feel completely exhausted. She is well aware of the physicality of the job as she is also an OT. Now I'm 8 weeks and have had some bleeding and took 3 days off sick to get it checked and finally she has said we ought to do a risk assessment. However she has also said if we identify any risks she will have to refer to Occ Health and I might have to be redeployed. The redeployment comment seems a bit OTT! I was thinking along the lines of being encouraged to take more frequent breaks and being allowed to take a therapy assistant if something heavy needs to be lifted. She has also been very snippy about a blood test I need at 10.00 on a working day and asked me to make my appointments to minimise service disruption. I pointed out I had had two GP appointments and a scan on non working days so was doing my best to be accommodating but this couldn't be helped. I am feeling a bit peed off - but if mumsnetters think I am acting like a 'special snowflake' I'll take it on the chin! Am interested to know how other employers accommodate pregnancy, all stories welcome.

madsaz76 Fri 04-Dec-15 18:12:54

I'm a doctor. My boss wasn't really sure about how to do the risk assessment so I wrote it myself - but its a he & I sometimes thing men are nicer than women bosses around pregnancy.