Talk

Advanced search

High bmi and pregnancy

(11 Posts)
lindsayville Fri 13-Nov-15 07:41:06

I'm a generously sized uk 14 to 16 aware of the fact I'm overweight and lately been relying on to much junk and takeaway and little to no excercise as I'm simply exhausted having 3 kids being 11 weeks pregnant and also working. However my bmi was 35 I'm short maybe 5ft2 however I'm disgusted at myself for letting myself get this far. Has anyone any advise on how to eat healthy or what they do to maybe lose safely a few pounds in this pregnancy or tips for better eating? I'm a rubbish cook hence to many takeaways but I want to change now I don't want to risk diabetes for the baby.

Autumn2014 Fri 13-Nov-15 07:50:22

Tommys do a free a pregnancy book.called having a healthy pregnancy. My mw recommended it to me
It's a lovely glossy book with photos and packed full of tips, non judgemental. It's not about dieting or loosing weight but being aware of lifestyle changes and looking after yourself and the growing baby. You can register online for it free of charge and they will pop.one in the post for you.

BreeVDKamp Fri 13-Nov-15 07:55:56

Oh that book sounds good!

I had a bmi of 32 at booking and felt like you've described. It's not nice! But I lost weight without trying in the first half of my pregnancy, and was low-risk throughout and didn't even have a glucose tolerance test. So don't worry OP, it might not have any affect on your pregnancy.
Eat loads of fruit and veg, protein and good carbs (wholegrain bread, brown rice etc) and keep up with any exercise you did pre-pregnancy. I did do a lot pre- and throughout pregnancy, and lots of walks as well.
For me the problem has been after pregnancy - I'm fatter now than I was when is just given birth 5 months ago!
Good luck OP and don't beat yourself up about it smile

Paperblank Fri 13-Nov-15 08:02:21