Talk

Advanced search

Would you like to be a member of our research panel? Join here - there's (nearly) always a great incentive offered for your views.

help...a bit scared

(20 Posts)
E11Chick Thu 22-Oct-15 16:46:08

So just been to the toilet and when I wiped the discharge was light brown. Went again 20 mins later and just normal again. I would have been due on around now. Should I be concerned?

I'm 6 weeks pregnant with my first baby

Any advice would be really appreciated xx

KatyN Thu 22-Oct-15 17:31:12

I had a couple of browny wipes this pregnancy. I called the gp surgery who referred me to the midwifery team who sent me to the early assessment unit at the hospital and I had a scan. It was about 9 weeks for me so a bit later. Then they could see the baby was fine.
You could try ringing the gp if you are worried (of course you're worried but really worried) but I also think it would be more than a browny wipe if it was anything sinister (I'm not a medical professional, mind).
Kx

PrincessPunzie Thu 22-Oct-15 21:38:41

I had something similar last weekend when I was 6 and a half weeks. Because the doctor was closed I called 111 who referred me to the antenatal department, who in turn sent me for a scan on Monday morning. Baby is fine and we could see the heartbeat. It was an immense relief! Everyone took it very seriously and was ever so helpful, I had the teeniest bit of brown blood this morning also, but they'd warned me that could happen - they could find no reason for the bleed and said that sometimes it just happens, and that due to the presence of the heartbeat I'm unlikely to miscarry at this stage. Don't feel silly about asking for an appointment, they take even the lightest amount of bleeding very seriously and I'm ever so glad I went in and had my mind put to rest x

E11Chick Fri 23-Oct-15 06:36:02

Thanks both, I haven't had anything since and there was no red blood just brown.