loader

Talk

Advanced search

Baby's position

(8 Posts)
Zamaz Tue 22-Sep-15 09:35:58

Hi all,
I'm new to Mumsnet, so nice to meet you all! smile
I'm currently 31 weeks pregnant with my first baby, and so far (thankfully) have had a relatively uneventful pregnancy. Judging by the shape of my bump, where I'm feeling movement and what the midwife has said, my baby is lying across (transverse; and it feels like with limbs facing outwards). It seems to have stubbornly been this way since I could first tell where it was!
I am trying to stay rational in the face of Google searches confused but am wondering about whether it might turn into the 'correct' position? The internet seems full of scare stories and would have me believe that I am doomed; my midwife, friends and family are far more relaxed and the midwife has said she wouldn't really start thinking about looking into things further until about 34 weeks.
Any thoughts / advice / ideas / experiences about this? I'd be really grateful! Also, anything I can do to encourage baby round which doesn't involve standing head first in a pool of water for hours on end?! grin
Thanks!
Zamaz xx

Ihatechoosingnames Tue 22-Sep-15 09:39:20

In my first pregnancy my son was transverse until about 35-36 weeks. There is a lot you can do to turn them - go on all 4s instead of sitting (an exercise ball is perfect for this) don't lounge on the sofa, walking lots etc. Check the spinning babies site.

I'm currently 33 weeks with my 2nd and she goes from breech to head down several times a week still (I have growth scans every week due to problems in my last pregnancy and at each one she is in a different position still!)

Every1KnowsJeffHesUsuallyACunt Tue 22-Sep-15 09:42:01

This pregnancy, my dd was transverse at 34 weeks. By the next antenatal appointment at 36 weeks, she was head down again. Mw said she wasn't concerned before 36 weeks anyway.

AbbeyRoadCrossing Tue 22-Sep-15 12:33:46