Talk

Advanced search

Would you like to be a member of our research panel? Join here - there's (nearly) always a great incentive offered for your views.

Concerns over booking appt blood tests

(8 Posts)
Tigerstar123 Mon 17-Aug-15 15:45:07

Hi all,

Just to throw this out there first, but I am a born worrier!
I am currently 12 weeks pg and had my booking appt. Usual things done inc bloods taken.
I spoke to my midwife re the results and she said I'd get them at my scan next week.

However, I'm worried there will be something awful in these results. If there was, would you be told about it before your scan?? IE would the hospital or midwife ring?

I had booking bloods done last year, but had mmc at 12 weeks, so just days before my scan, so I never got to see midwife again. If there was anything awful in the results, would someone have contacted me?

Just feel on pins. Any reassurance would be grateful. Thanks in advance. Xx

cranberryx Mon 17-Aug-15 15:58:04

I am not a doctor so can't say, but this was my experience (am now 25 weeks pregnant)

They took my booking bloods so they know your blood type, also if your HIV neg etc. they didn't mention anything to me but just put a note in my maternity notes, that they should give for you to keep at 12 weeks. Nothing was wrong per say, so no call, but did mention it at 12 week scan and blood test and just said everything was in my notes.

After I had my 12 week scan they phoned me after 2 weeks. Midwife said, call means something is wrong and letter means everything is fine. I am low on a hormone called PAPP-A and need consultant led care, and the call is so if you get bad news you understand what the letter means when it comes later.