Talk

Advanced search

Would you like to be a member of our research panel? Join here - there's (nearly) always a great incentive offered for your views.

Pregnant working student - ESA when ill?!

(7 Posts)
Teamstaisy16 Thu 06-Aug-15 17:38:13

Hi I'm 6-7 weeks pg and I'm suffering with awful sickness at all times of Day. I don't get sick pay at work and as I'm a student (mature) I don't think I can get any help if I'm not at work. Tried all remedies etc and nothing truly works. Can cope but am worried about work. If I can't go in I don't get paid and I'm struggling. My student finance pays off my rent so it's gone quickly and I rely on my part time income. What should I do? Anyone else a student in same boat?

JJXM Thu 06-Aug-15 17:52:07

Is there a reason you don't get sick pay? Most companies will pay statutory sick pay which is only a small amount but better than nothing.

You won't get ESA as a student. To claim ESA you need to be unfit for any type of work and actually not in work as it is an out of work benefit. You can get ESA in pregnancy but only in the last few weeks unless there are exceptional circumstances. You would be better asking your university for some financial assistance?

What have you tried for morning sickness? Have you tried going to the gp and asking for some medication.

JJXM Thu 06-Aug-15 17:57:59

Actually I just checked the law and you can get ESA if you are in employment where you don't qualify for statutory sick pay. But you have to be incapable of work for more than seven days and will need to get a fit note from your doctor.

JJXM Thu 06-Aug-15 18:01:02

Sorry hit reply too soon - you would have to have a work capability assessment and have to score a certain number of points. I think you would find it hard to prove that morning sickness made it so you could not work at all.

lauraa4 Thu 06-Aug-15 19:08:33