Talk

Advanced search

Would you like to be a member of our research panel? Join here - there's (nearly) always a great incentive offered for your views.

Paranoid about the sun!

(22 Posts)
cremedecacao Thu 25-Jun-15 16:34:16

I am a teacher, and have had to sit outside in the sun for quite a while this afternoon for Sports Day. It is the fete on Saturday and I am running a stall, meaning that again I will be out in the sun from 2 'til 4. There is no way I can have more than one break when running the stall, it is always manic! I'm 5 weeks pregnant and had a MMC in December, so I know I'm super cautious, but am I being ridiculous to worry about this?

TitusAndromedon Thu 25-Jun-15 16:40:13

Are you worried about overheating? Just make sure you keep well hydrated. I spent the first two weeks of my pregnancy in Thailand, where I spent much of my time quietly baking on a sun lounger. I'm now 16 weeks and everything appears to be developing just fine. There really isn't anything to worry about.

cremedecacao Thu 25-Jun-15 16:47:12

Yes blush thank you. I was hoping I was being paranoid as I can't really get out of it!

AbbeyRoadCrossing Thu 25-Jun-15 16:58:50

I do find I burn much more easily in pregnancy, but apart from that and staying hydrated I can't see any problems with it.

MissTwister Thu 25-Jun-15 17:09:54

If it helps I don't think Saturday is meant to be hot!

Just drink lots of water and if it's sunny put on sun cream and a hat - but unless you're in some kind of major 45 degree heatwave you're not going to do any damage

cremedecacao Thu 25-Jun-15 17:45:22

Thanks... sorry! I am trying so hard not to be crazy about every little thing. But I am! Can't cook a meal without googling every ingredient first. I always said I wouldn't be like this!

minijoeyjojo Thu 25-Jun-15 17:50:44

Just make sure you put some high factor sun cream on, bring a hat and plenty of water.